Retourner à la collection

Genji Challa

Genji Challa

Subscribe and receive a discount of up to 15%!
Genji Challa
  • Jimma, Éthiopie
  • Telila
  • JARC 74112
  • Lavé
  • Pêches, thé noir, miel

Discover the story: Genji Challa

For the second year in a row on the Pista menu, we present the Genji Challa. This coffee comes to us from the Telila washing station located in Kecho Anderacha in the Jimma region, Ethiopia.


This young washing station has only been in existence for 4 years but is operated by a very experienced team headed by our partner Mike Mamo. Quality control and innovation are the priorities of this station. One of its particularities, and what makes it unique, is that it separates the batches as soon as they arrive by Kebele (neighborhood). This allows very precise traceability of the coffee cherries it receives. This is a rare way of doing things in Ethiopia where in the majority of cases, producers bring their cherries to a washing station and they are sorted by the processing method. The batches are then simply identified with the name of the washing station. This relationship with the Telila station was made possible thanks to our import partner Osito Coffee.


Mike and his team receive coffee cherries from 3 different Kebele at this station: Genji Challa, Gera and Kolla. Cultivated at an altitude of around 2000 meters, this coffee is made up of the 74112 (Serto) variety. This variety was selected by JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) in 1979 for its resistance to certain diseases, as well as for its high sensory potential. First, it is picked at full maturity and sorted by floating, then by hand. , in order to remove overripe or underripe cherries. It is then partially pulped using a mechanical pulper, then immersed in water for 24 to 36 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being spread on raised beds for 10 to 14 days for slow and even drying. Slightly tangy, it can be enjoyed both as an espresso and as a filter, offering a delicate espresso or a complex filter.


This floral coffee has tasting notes of peach and black tea, with a texture reminding us of honey.

 

Information sur l'origine

For the second year in a row on the Pista menu, we present the Genji Challa. This coffee comes to us from the Telila washing station located in Kecho Anderacha in the Jimma region, Ethiopia.


This young washing station has only been in existence for 4 years but is operated by a very experienced team headed by our partner Mike Mamo. Quality control and innovation are the priorities of this station. One of its particularities, and what makes it unique, is that it separates the batches as soon as they arrive by Kebele (neighborhood). This allows very precise traceability of the coffee cherries it receives. This is a rare way of doing things in Ethiopia where in the majority of cases, producers bring their cherries to a washing station and they are sorted by the processing method. The batches are then simply identified with the name of the washing station. This relationship with the Telila station was made possible thanks to our import partner Osito Coffee.


Mike and his team receive coffee cherries from 3 different Kebele at this station: Genji Challa, Gera and Kolla. Cultivated at an altitude of around 2000 meters, this coffee is made up of the 74112 (Serto) variety. This variety was selected by JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) in 1979 for its resistance to certain diseases, as well as for its high sensory potential. First, it is picked at full maturity and sorted by floating, then by hand. , in order to remove overripe or underripe cherries. It is then partially pulped using a mechanical pulper, then immersed in water for 24 to 36 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being spread on raised beds for 10 to 14 days for slow and even drying. Slightly tangy, it can be enjoyed both as an espresso and as a filter, offering a delicate espresso or a complex filter.


This floral coffee has tasting notes of peach and black tea, with a texture reminding us of honey.

 

Ce café floral goûte la pêche et le thé noir, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

Technical information

Price paid at origin (FOB)

6.47 cad/lb vs C-Market à 1.75 usd/lb

Partnership

2 ans, via Osito Coffee

Batch Size

10 x 60kg

Batch Quality

score SCA : 87

1 of 8

Retourner à la collection

Genji Challa

Genji Challa

Abonnez-vous et recevez un rabais jusqu'a 15%!
Genji Challa
  • Jimma, Éthiopie
  • Telila
  • JARC 74112
  • Lavé
  • Pêches, thé noir, miel

Découvrez l'histoire: Genji Challa

Pour la deuxième année consécutive sur le menu Pista, nous vous présentons le Genji Challa. Ce café nous provient de la de la station de lavage de Telila située à Kecho Anderacha dans la région de Jimma, en Éthiopie. 


Cette jeune station de lavage existe depuis seulement 4 ans et est opérée par une équipe très expérimentée avec, à sa tête, notre partenaire Mike Mamo. Le contrôle qualité et l'innovation sont les priorités de cette station. L’une de ses particularités, et ce qui la rend unique, est qu’elle sépare les lots dès leur arrivée par Kebele (quartier). Cela permet une traçabilité très précise des cerises de café qu’elle reçoit.  C’est une façon de faire plutôt rare en Éthiopie ou dans la majorité des cas, les producteurs apportent leurs cerises à une station de lavage et celles-ci sont triées par méthodes de traitement. Les lots sont alors identifiés avec le nom de la station de lavage tout simplement. Cette relation avec la station de lavage Telila  a été rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.


Mike et son équipe reçoivent les cerises de café de 3 différents Kebele  à cette station: Genji Challa, Gera et Kolla.  Cultivé à une altitude d’environ 2000 mètres, ce café est constitué de la variété 74112 (Serto). Cette variété a été sélectionnée par le JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) dès 1979 pour sa résistance à certaines maladies, ainsi que pour son haut potentiel sensoriel.D’abord,il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite partiellement dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis immergé dans l’eau pendant 24 à 36 heures. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être étendu sur des lits surélevés pendant 10 à 14 jours pour un séchage lent et homogène. Légèrement acidulé, il se boit autant en espresso qu’en filtre, offrant un espresso délicat ou un filtre complexe.


Ce café floral goûte la pêche et le thé noir, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

 

Information sur l'origine

Pour la deuxième année consécutive sur le menu Pista, nous vous présentons le Genji Challa. Ce café nous provient de la de la station de lavage de Telila située à Kecho Anderacha dans la région de Jimma, en Éthiopie. 


Cette jeune station de lavage existe depuis seulement 4 ans et est opérée par une équipe très expérimentée avec, à sa tête, notre partenaire Mike Mamo. Le contrôle qualité et l'innovation sont les priorités de cette station. L’une de ses particularités, et ce qui la rend unique, est qu’elle sépare les lots dès leur arrivée par Kebele (quartier). Cela permet une traçabilité très précise des cerises de café qu’elle reçoit.  C’est une façon de faire plutôt rare en Éthiopie ou dans la majorité des cas, les producteurs apportent leurs cerises à une station de lavage et celles-ci sont triées par méthodes de traitement. Les lots sont alors identifiés avec le nom de la station de lavage tout simplement. Cette relation avec la station de lavage Telila  a été rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.


Mike et son équipe reçoivent les cerises de café de 3 différents Kebele  à cette station: Genji Challa, Gera et Kolla.  Cultivé à une altitude d’environ 2000 mètres, ce café est constitué de la variété 74112 (Serto). Cette variété a été sélectionnée par le JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) dès 1979 pour sa résistance à certaines maladies, ainsi que pour son haut potentiel sensoriel.D’abord,il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite partiellement dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis immergé dans l’eau pendant 24 à 36 heures. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être étendu sur des lits surélevés pendant 10 à 14 jours pour un séchage lent et homogène. Légèrement acidulé, il se boit autant en espresso qu’en filtre, offrant un espresso délicat ou un filtre complexe.


Ce café floral goûte la pêche et le thé noir, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

 

Ce café floral goûte la pêche et le thé noir, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

Informations techniques

Prix payé à l'origine (FOB)

6.47 cad/lb vs C-Market à 1.75 usd/lb

Partenariat

2 ans, via Osito Coffee

Taille du lot

10 x 60kg

Qualité du lot

score SCA : 87

1 de 8