💥 30% OFF your first month of subscription! CODE: CLUBPISTA30 💥

Genji Challa_WS

Éthiopie

Genji Challa_WS

Regular price
$13.00
Sale price
$13.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Country Ethiopia
Region Gera, Jimma
Farm Telila washing station
Variety
JARC 74112
Altitude 2000 M
Method Washed
Notes Honey, peach, black tea

ORIGIN INFORMATION

For the first time on the Pista menu, we present to you the Genji Challa. This coffee comes to us from the Telila washing station, located in Kecho Anderacha, in the Jimma region of Ethiopia. 

This young washing station has been in existence for only 3 years and is operated by a very experienced team headed by our import partner Mike Mamo. Quality control and innovation are top priorities at this station. For example, a particularity of this station and what makes it unique is that it separates the batches as soon as they arrive by Kebele. This allows very precise traceability of the coffee cherries it receives. This is a rare way of doing things in Ethiopia. In the majority of cases, growers take their cherries to a washing station and they are sorted by processing methods. The batches are then simply identified with the name of the washing station. This new relationship with the Telila car wash was made possible through our import partner Osito Coffee.

Mike and his team receive the coffee cherries from 3 different Kebele at this station: Genji Challa, Gera and Kolla. Grown at an altitude of around 2000 meters, this coffee is made from the 74112 (Serto) variety. This variety was selected by the JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) in 1979 for its resistance to certain diseases, as well as for its high sensory potential. First, it is picked at full maturity and sorted by flotation, then by hand, in order to remove the cherries that are too ripe or not ripe enough. It is then partially pulped using a mechanical pulper, then immersed in water for 24 to 36 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being laid out on raised beds for 10 to 14 days for slow and homogeneous drying. Slightly tangy, it is perfect for espresso or filter coffee, offering a delicate espresso or a complex filter..

This floral coffee tastes like peaches and black tea, with a texture reminiscent of honey.

Country Ethiopia
Region Gera, Jimma
Farm Telila washing station
Variety
JARC 74112
Altitude 2000 M
Method Washed
Notes Honey, peach, black tea

ORIGIN INFORMATION

For the first time on the Pista menu, we present to you the Genji Challa. This coffee comes to us from the Telila washing station, located in Kecho Anderacha, in the Jimma region of Ethiopia. 

This young washing station has been in existence for only 3 years and is operated by a very experienced team headed by our import partner Mike Mamo. Quality control and innovation are top priorities at this station. For example, a particularity of this station and what makes it unique is that it separates the batches as soon as they arrive by Kebele. This allows very precise traceability of the coffee cherries it receives. This is a rare way of doing things in Ethiopia. In the majority of cases, growers take their cherries to a washing station and they are sorted by processing methods. The batches are then simply identified with the name of the washing station. This new relationship with the Telila car wash was made possible through our import partner Osito Coffee.

Mike and his team receive the coffee cherries from 3 different Kebele at this station: Genji Challa, Gera and Kolla. Grown at an altitude of around 2000 meters, this coffee is made from the 74112 (Serto) variety. This variety was selected by the JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) in 1979 for its resistance to certain diseases, as well as for its high sensory potential. First, it is picked at full maturity and sorted by flotation, then by hand, in order to remove the cherries that are too ripe or not ripe enough. It is then partially pulped using a mechanical pulper, then immersed in water for 24 to 36 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being laid out on raised beds for 10 to 14 days for slow and homogeneous drying. Slightly tangy, it is perfect for espresso or filter coffee, offering a delicate espresso or a complex filter..

This floral coffee tastes like peaches and black tea, with a texture reminiscent of honey.

  • icon-price

    Original price paid (FOB)

    3.60$usd/lb vs C-Market à 2.25$/lb
  • icon-fair

    Partnership

    2 years

    via Osito Coffee

  • icon-size

    Lot size

    20 x 60kg
  • icon-quality

    Lot quality

    87/100

    Score SCA

  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Genji Challa_WS
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Genji Challa_WS
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Genji Challa_WS
English

🔥 🐉 Découvrez nos ensembles cafés «Dragons» pour espresso ou filtre ! 🔥 🐉

Genji Challa_WS

Éthiopie

Genji Challa_WS

Prix normal
$13.00
Prix réduit
$13.00
Frais d'expédition calculés lors du passage à la caisse.

Pays Éthiopie
Région Gera, Jimma
Ferme Telila washing station
Variété
JARC 74112
Altitude 2000 M
Méthode Lavé
Notes Miel, pêche, thé noir

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE 

Pour la première fois sur le menu Pista, nous vous présentons le Genji Challa. Ce café nous provient de la station de lavage de Telila, située à Kecho Anderacha, dans la région de Jimma en Éthiopie. 

Cette jeune station de lavage existe depuis seulement 3 ans et est opérée par une équipe très expérimentée avec, à sa tête, notre partenaire en importation Mike Mamo. Le contrôle de la qualité et l'innovation sont à la tête des priorités de cette station. Par exemple, une particularité de cette station et ce qui la rend unique est qu’elle sépare les lots dès leur arrivée par Kebele (quartiers). Cela permet ainsi une traçabilité très précise des cerises de café qu’elle reçoit.  C’est une façon de faire plutôt rare en Éthiopie.  Dans la majorité des cas, les producteurs apportent leurs cerises à une station de lavage et celles-ci sont triées par méthodes de traitement. Les lots sont alors identifiés avec le nom de la station de lavage tout simplement. Cette nouvelle relation avec la station de lavage Telila  a été rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Mike et son équipe reçoivent les cerises de café de 3 différents Kebele à cette station: Genji Challa, Gera et Kolla. Cultivé à une altitude d’environ 2000 mètres, ce café est constitué de la variété 74112 (Serto). Cette variété a été sélectionnée par le JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) dès 1979 pour sa résistance à certaines maladies, ainsi que pour son haut potentiel sensoriel. D’abord, il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite partiellement dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis immergé dans l’eau pendant 24 à 36 heures. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être étendu sur des lits surélevés pendant 10 à 14 jours pour un séchage lent et homogène. Légèrement acidulé, il se boit autant en espresso qu’en filtre, offrant un espresso délicat ou un filtre complexe.

Ce café floral goûte la pêche et le thé noir, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

Pays Éthiopie
Région Gera, Jimma
Ferme Telila washing station
Variété
JARC 74112
Altitude 2000 M
Méthode Lavé
Notes Miel, pêche, thé noir

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE 

Pour la première fois sur le menu Pista, nous vous présentons le Genji Challa. Ce café nous provient de la station de lavage de Telila, située à Kecho Anderacha, dans la région de Jimma en Éthiopie. 

Cette jeune station de lavage existe depuis seulement 3 ans et est opérée par une équipe très expérimentée avec, à sa tête, notre partenaire en importation Mike Mamo. Le contrôle de la qualité et l'innovation sont à la tête des priorités de cette station. Par exemple, une particularité de cette station et ce qui la rend unique est qu’elle sépare les lots dès leur arrivée par Kebele (quartiers). Cela permet ainsi une traçabilité très précise des cerises de café qu’elle reçoit.  C’est une façon de faire plutôt rare en Éthiopie.  Dans la majorité des cas, les producteurs apportent leurs cerises à une station de lavage et celles-ci sont triées par méthodes de traitement. Les lots sont alors identifiés avec le nom de la station de lavage tout simplement. Cette nouvelle relation avec la station de lavage Telila  a été rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Mike et son équipe reçoivent les cerises de café de 3 différents Kebele à cette station: Genji Challa, Gera et Kolla. Cultivé à une altitude d’environ 2000 mètres, ce café est constitué de la variété 74112 (Serto). Cette variété a été sélectionnée par le JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) dès 1979 pour sa résistance à certaines maladies, ainsi que pour son haut potentiel sensoriel. D’abord, il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite partiellement dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis immergé dans l’eau pendant 24 à 36 heures. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être étendu sur des lits surélevés pendant 10 à 14 jours pour un séchage lent et homogène. Légèrement acidulé, il se boit autant en espresso qu’en filtre, offrant un espresso délicat ou un filtre complexe.

Ce café floral goûte la pêche et le thé noir, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

  • icon-price

    Prix payé à l'origine (FOB)

    3.60$usd/lb vs C-Market à 2.25$/lb
  • icon-fair

    Partenariat

    1 an

    via Osito Coffee

  • icon-size

    Taille du lot

    20 x 60kg
  • icon-quality

    Qualité du lot

    87/100

    Score SCA

  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Genji Challa_WS
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Genji Challa_WS
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Genji Challa_WS
French