30% off your first month of membership! Code: CLUBPISTA30

Munyinya

Munyinya

Regular price
$22.00
Sale price
$14.50
Quantity must be 1 or more

Country Burundi
Region Muramvya
Farm Long Miles Coffee Project
Variety
Bourbon
Altitude 1700-2100M
Method Washed
Notes Pear, honey and jasmine

ORIGIN INFORMATION

For the fourth consecutive year, we are very happy to present a coffee produced by our friends from Long Miles Coffee Project, in Burundi. This year we chose Munyinya, a coffee from the very first hill that Ben and Kristy Carslon, the founders, worked with on their project. Munyinya is located in the Muramvya region, in the heart of Burundi. 

Here are some words from the founders: “Munyinya was the first hill that made us realize that Burundian coffee had the potential to produce incredible microlots. Munyinya is just beyond the border with the commune named Bukeye. The dirt road that winds up the hill is on the side of the mountains and offers cinematic views of the valleys below. Coffee trees line the slopes that lead to the small town centre. Despite its beauty, it is a hill that we almost abandoned because year after year the farmers continued to deliver poor quality cherries. But, when a hill holds as strong as Munyinya, we have to roll up our sleeves and devote our efforts to it day after day.’

Long Miles Coffee Project is a wonderful example of the impact specialty coffee can have on communities. What started out as a simple community project is now a vast system allowing hundreds of producers to access specialty market prices. This year again, this collaboration with Long Miles Coffee Project was made possible thanks to our import partner Osito Coffee.

Grown at an altitude between 1700 and 2100 meters, this coffee is made from the Bourbon variety. It is picked when fully ripe and sorted by flotation first, then by hand, in order to remove the cherries that are too ripe or not ripe enough. It is then pulped using a mechanical pulper, then fermented dry for 12 hours and then in a basin of water for another 12 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being dried slowly and under permanent control on raised beds for 16 to 20 days. Fruity and delicate, it offers a complex taste in both espresso and filter.

This delicate and fruity coffee tastes like pear and honey, on a floral finish reminiscent of jasmine.

Country Burundi
Region Muramvya
Farm Long Miles Coffee Project
Variety
Bourbon
Altitude 1700-2100M
Method Washed
Notes Pear, honey and jasmine

ORIGIN INFORMATION

For the fourth consecutive year, we are very happy to present a coffee produced by our friends from Long Miles Coffee Project, in Burundi. This year we chose Munyinya, a coffee from the very first hill that Ben and Kristy Carslon, the founders, worked with on their project. Munyinya is located in the Muramvya region, in the heart of Burundi. 

Here are some words from the founders: “Munyinya was the first hill that made us realize that Burundian coffee had the potential to produce incredible microlots. Munyinya is just beyond the border with the commune named Bukeye. The dirt road that winds up the hill is on the side of the mountains and offers cinematic views of the valleys below. Coffee trees line the slopes that lead to the small town centre. Despite its beauty, it is a hill that we almost abandoned because year after year the farmers continued to deliver poor quality cherries. But, when a hill holds as strong as Munyinya, we have to roll up our sleeves and devote our efforts to it day after day.’

Long Miles Coffee Project is a wonderful example of the impact specialty coffee can have on communities. What started out as a simple community project is now a vast system allowing hundreds of producers to access specialty market prices. This year again, this collaboration with Long Miles Coffee Project was made possible thanks to our import partner Osito Coffee.

Grown at an altitude between 1700 and 2100 meters, this coffee is made from the Bourbon variety. It is picked when fully ripe and sorted by flotation first, then by hand, in order to remove the cherries that are too ripe or not ripe enough. It is then pulped using a mechanical pulper, then fermented dry for 12 hours and then in a basin of water for another 12 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being dried slowly and under permanent control on raised beds for 16 to 20 days. Fruity and delicate, it offers a complex taste in both espresso and filter.

This delicate and fruity coffee tastes like pear and honey, on a floral finish reminiscent of jasmine.

  • icon-price

    Original price paid (FOB)

    4.77$usd/lb

    vs. C-Market at $1.90/lb

  • icon-fair

    Partnership

    4 years

    Via Osito Coffee

  • icon-size

    Lot size

    14x60kg
  • icon-quality

    Lot quality

    87/100

    Score SCA

  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Munyinya
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Munyinya
English

30% de rabais sur votre premier mois d'abonnement! Code: CLUBPISTA30

Munyinya

Munyinya

Prix normal
$22.00
Prix réduit
$14.50
La quantité doit être supérieure ou égale à 1

Pays Burundi
Région Muramvya
Ferme Long Miles Coffee Project
Variété
Bourbon
Altitude 1700-2100M
Méthode Lavé
Notes Poire, miel et jasmin

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE

Pour la quatrième année consécutive nous sommes très heureux de retrouver un café produit par nos amis de Long Miles Coffee Project, au Burundi. Cette année, nous avons choisi le Munyinya, un café issu de la toute première colline avec qui Ben et Kristy Carslon, les fondateurs, ont travaillé pour leur projet. Munyinya est située dans la région de Muramvya, au cœur du Burundi. 

Voici quelques mots de la part des fondateurs: “Munyinya a été la première colline qui nous  a fait réaliser que le café Burundais avait le potentiel de produire d'incroyables microlots. Munyinya se trouve juste au-delà de la bordure avec la commune nommée Bukeye. Le chemin de terre qui serpente la colline est à flanc de montagnes et permet d’apprécier une vue  cinématographiques des vallées en contrebas. Des caféiers bordent les pentes qui mènent au petit centre-ville. Malgré sa beauté, c'est une colline que nous avons presque abandonnée car année après année, les agriculteurs continuaient à livrer des cerises de mauvaise qualité. Mais, quand une colline tient autant que Munyinya, on se doit de retrousser nos manches et d'y consacrer nos efforts jour après jour.’

Long Miles Coffee Project est un magnifique exemple de l’impact que le café de spécialité peut avoir sur les communautés. Ce qui était au départ un simple projet communautaire est aujourd’hui un vaste système permettant à des centaines de producteurs d'accéder aux prix du marché de spécialité. Cette année encore, cette collaboration avec Long Miles Coffee Project fut rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Cultivé à une altitude entre 1700 et 2100 mètres, ce café est composé de la variété Bourbon.  Il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison d’abord, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis fermenté à sec pendant 12 heures puis dans un bassin d’eau pendant 12 heures supplémentaires. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être séché lentement et sous contrôle permanent sur des lits surélevés pendant 16 à 20 jours. Fruité et délicat, il offre une dégustation complexe autant en espresso qu’en filtre.

Ce café délicat et fruité goûte la poire et le miel, sur une finale florale nous rappelant le jasmin.

Pays Burundi
Région Muramvya
Ferme Long Miles Coffee Project
Variété
Bourbon
Altitude 1700-2100M
Méthode Lavé
Notes Poire, miel et jasmin

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE

Pour la quatrième année consécutive nous sommes très heureux de retrouver un café produit par nos amis de Long Miles Coffee Project, au Burundi. Cette année, nous avons choisi le Munyinya, un café issu de la toute première colline avec qui Ben et Kristy Carslon, les fondateurs, ont travaillé pour leur projet. Munyinya est située dans la région de Muramvya, au cœur du Burundi. 

Voici quelques mots de la part des fondateurs: “Munyinya a été la première colline qui nous  a fait réaliser que le café Burundais avait le potentiel de produire d'incroyables microlots. Munyinya se trouve juste au-delà de la bordure avec la commune nommée Bukeye. Le chemin de terre qui serpente la colline est à flanc de montagnes et permet d’apprécier une vue  cinématographiques des vallées en contrebas. Des caféiers bordent les pentes qui mènent au petit centre-ville. Malgré sa beauté, c'est une colline que nous avons presque abandonnée car année après année, les agriculteurs continuaient à livrer des cerises de mauvaise qualité. Mais, quand une colline tient autant que Munyinya, on se doit de retrousser nos manches et d'y consacrer nos efforts jour après jour.’

Long Miles Coffee Project est un magnifique exemple de l’impact que le café de spécialité peut avoir sur les communautés. Ce qui était au départ un simple projet communautaire est aujourd’hui un vaste système permettant à des centaines de producteurs d'accéder aux prix du marché de spécialité. Cette année encore, cette collaboration avec Long Miles Coffee Project fut rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Cultivé à une altitude entre 1700 et 2100 mètres, ce café est composé de la variété Bourbon.  Il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison d’abord, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis fermenté à sec pendant 12 heures puis dans un bassin d’eau pendant 12 heures supplémentaires. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être séché lentement et sous contrôle permanent sur des lits surélevés pendant 16 à 20 jours. Fruité et délicat, il offre une dégustation complexe autant en espresso qu’en filtre.

Ce café délicat et fruité goûte la poire et le miel, sur une finale florale nous rappelant le jasmin.

  • icon-price

    Prix payé à l'origine (FOB)

    4.77$usd/lb

    vs C-Market à 1.90$/lb

  • icon-fair

    Partenariat

    4 ans

    Via Osito Coffee

  • icon-size

    Taille du lot

    14x60kg
  • icon-quality

    Qualité du lot

    87/100

    Score SCA

  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Munyinya
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Munyinya
French