Bookkisa - Ethiopia | Cafe Pista – Café Pista

Enjoy 50% OFF on your first month of subscription! CODE: CLUBPISTA50

Bookkisa_WS

Ethiopie

Bookkisa_WS

Regular price
$12.50
Sale price
$12.50
Quantity must be 1 or more

Country Ethiopia
Region Shakizo
Farm Sookoo Coffee, Ture Waji
Variety
74110, 74112
Altitude 2175M
Method Natural
Notes Mango, pineapple, blueberry jam

ORIGIN INFORMATION

For a second year in a row, we bring back one of our favorite coffees, the Bookkisa. This coffee comes from the hamlet of Bookkisa in the Guji Highlands region of southern Ethiopia. Widely covered by vast expanses of forest, Guji is one of the twenty zones that make up the Oromia administrative region which, with its 30 million people, is the most populous of the country's nine regions. The ancestral forests of Guji, its volcanic soil rich in silt and clay, but also its temperate climate and high altitude, have made the reputation of some woreda (district) such as Uraga, Kercha or Shakiso. However, the success of this terroir would not have been possible without the know-how and the hard work of local producers. This lot is the result of the work of 33 farmers whose “garden” plantings rarely exceed 2.5 hectares. In this type of farm, the coffee plants are scattered around the main dwelling, under a semi-forest canopy next to other types of so-called subsistence crops (vegetables, corn, etc.). Once the coffee cherries are harvested, they are walked to the washing station located in the kebele (village) of Dambi Uddo for sale. This step is usually done in the middle of the night to prevent the cherries from being overexposed to the sun. 

Once delivered to the Dambi Uddo washing station, owner Ture Waji and his team take over to turn the cherries into green coffee beans ready to ship. As early as 2008, Ture Waji, nicknamed the "King of Guji", took advantage of the liberalization of Ethiopia's coffee export market to found the company Sookoo Coffee. Through is company, he operates his two washing stations (Dambi Uddo and Raro Nansebo) and his export license which allows him to transport his coffee to the capital Addis Ababa first, then to the port of Djibouti. Ture has been involved in his community for over 10 years, having previously worked for Mormora Coffee and Guji Highlands Coffee. Since the creation of Sookoo Coffee in 2018, this involvement has resulted in the construction of a school and several roads, and by micro-credits granted to producers, allowing them to finance certain tasks preceding the harvest. Between harvests, Waji provides training in agriculture for community members, while its two washing stations adhere to a strict “Women First” policy aimed at promoting women's empowerment by guaranteeing them access to a stable salary. Pista team feels extremely privileged to be able to work in the wake of the producers of Bookkisa, Ture Waji, and to be able to share the fruit of passionate work in our own community. This relationship with Ture Waji was once again made possible by our import partner, Osito Coffee.

The Bookkisa is hand picked at full maturity, at an altitude of 2,175 meters, between the months of November and February. It is then rigorously sorted to remove overripe or underripe cherries, before spreading those that remain on high beds. On these beds, the cherries form a mat no more than 4 cm thick and are turned 6 times a day to optimize air circulation. They are thus dried in the sun for a period ranging from 21 to 28 days before being mechanically pulped. Bookkisa is made up of varieties 74110 (Gibirinna) and 74112 (Serto). These two varieties were selected by the JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) in 1979 for their resistance to certain diseases, as well as for their high sensory potential. 

This very sweet and round coffee tastes like mango and pineapple, on a finish reminiscent of blueberry jam.

Country Ethiopia
Region Shakizo
Farm Sookoo Coffee, Ture Waji
Variety
74110, 74112
Altitude 2175M
Method Natural
Notes Mango, pineapple, blueberry jam

ORIGIN INFORMATION

For a second year in a row, we bring back one of our favorite coffees, the Bookkisa. This coffee comes from the hamlet of Bookkisa in the Guji Highlands region of southern Ethiopia. Widely covered by vast expanses of forest, Guji is one of the twenty zones that make up the Oromia administrative region which, with its 30 million people, is the most populous of the country's nine regions. The ancestral forests of Guji, its volcanic soil rich in silt and clay, but also its temperate climate and high altitude, have made the reputation of some woreda (district) such as Uraga, Kercha or Shakiso. However, the success of this terroir would not have been possible without the know-how and the hard work of local producers. This lot is the result of the work of 33 farmers whose “garden” plantings rarely exceed 2.5 hectares. In this type of farm, the coffee plants are scattered around the main dwelling, under a semi-forest canopy next to other types of so-called subsistence crops (vegetables, corn, etc.). Once the coffee cherries are harvested, they are walked to the washing station located in the kebele (village) of Dambi Uddo for sale. This step is usually done in the middle of the night to prevent the cherries from being overexposed to the sun. 

Once delivered to the Dambi Uddo washing station, owner Ture Waji and his team take over to turn the cherries into green coffee beans ready to ship. As early as 2008, Ture Waji, nicknamed the "King of Guji", took advantage of the liberalization of Ethiopia's coffee export market to found the company Sookoo Coffee. Through is company, he operates his two washing stations (Dambi Uddo and Raro Nansebo) and his export license which allows him to transport his coffee to the capital Addis Ababa first, then to the port of Djibouti. Ture has been involved in his community for over 10 years, having previously worked for Mormora Coffee and Guji Highlands Coffee. Since the creation of Sookoo Coffee in 2018, this involvement has resulted in the construction of a school and several roads, and by micro-credits granted to producers, allowing them to finance certain tasks preceding the harvest. Between harvests, Waji provides training in agriculture for community members, while its two washing stations adhere to a strict “Women First” policy aimed at promoting women's empowerment by guaranteeing them access to a stable salary. Pista team feels extremely privileged to be able to work in the wake of the producers of Bookkisa, Ture Waji, and to be able to share the fruit of passionate work in our own community. This relationship with Ture Waji was once again made possible by our import partner, Osito Coffee.

The Bookkisa is hand picked at full maturity, at an altitude of 2,175 meters, between the months of November and February. It is then rigorously sorted to remove overripe or underripe cherries, before spreading those that remain on high beds. On these beds, the cherries form a mat no more than 4 cm thick and are turned 6 times a day to optimize air circulation. They are thus dried in the sun for a period ranging from 21 to 28 days before being mechanically pulped. Bookkisa is made up of varieties 74110 (Gibirinna) and 74112 (Serto). These two varieties were selected by the JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) in 1979 for their resistance to certain diseases, as well as for their high sensory potential. 

This very sweet and round coffee tastes like mango and pineapple, on a finish reminiscent of blueberry jam.

  • icon-price

    Original price paid (FOB)

    $3.65 usd/lb vs C-Market à $1.15 usd/lb
  • icon-fair

    Partnership

    2 years via Osito Coffee
  • icon-size

    Lot size

    17 x 60 kg
  • icon-quality

    Lot quality

    88/100 Score SCA
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Bookkisa_WS
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Bookkisa_WS
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Bookkisa_WS
English

Bookkisa - Éthiopie | Café Pista

Livraison gratuite à partir de 30$ pour MTL et à partir du 50$ pour le reste du CANADA

Bookkisa_WS

Ethiopie

Bookkisa_WS

Prix normal
$12.50
Prix réduit
$12.50
La quantité doit être supérieure ou égale à 1

Pays Ethiopie
Région Shakizo
Ferme Sookoo Coffee, Ture Waji
Variété
74110, 74112
Altitude 2175M
Méthode Naturel
Notes Mangue, ananas, confiture de bleuet

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, nous retrouvons l’un de nos cafés favoris, le Bookkisa. Ce café provient du hameau de Bookkisa dans la région des hauts-plateaux de Guji, au sud de l’Éthiopie. Largement recouverte par de vastes étendues forestières, Guji est l’une des vingt zones constituant la région administrative d’Oromia qui, avec ces 30 millions d’habitants, est la plus peuplée des 9 régions du pays. Les forêts ancestrales de Guji, son sol volcanique riche en limon et en argile, mais aussi son climat tempéré et son altitude élevée, ont depuis quelques années fait le renom de certains woreda (district) tels qu’Uraga, Kercha ou encore Shakiso. Le succès de ce terroir n’aurait cependant pas été possible sans le savoir-faire et le labeur des producteurs et des productrices locaux. Ce lot est le résultat du travail de 33 fermiers dont les plantations en «jardin» dépassent rarement les 2.5 hectares. Dans ce type de fermes, les plants de café sont dispersés autour de l’habitation principale, sous une canopée semi-forestière à côté d’autres types de récoltes dites de subsistance (légumes, maïs,etc.). Une fois les cerises de café récoltées, elles sont acheminées à pied jusqu’à la station de lavage située dans le kebele (village) de Dambi Uddo pour y être vendues. Cette étape est habituellement effectuée au milieu de la nuit afin d’éviter aux cerises d’être surexposées au soleil. 

Une fois livrées à la station de lavage de Dambi Uddo, c’est le propriétaire Ture Waji et son équipe qui prennent le relais afin de transformer les cerises en grains de café vert prêts à être expédiés. Dès 2008, Ture Waji, que l’on surnomme le «King of Guji», profite de la libéralisation du marché de l’exportation du café en Éthiopie pour fonder la compagnie Sookoo Coffee. C’est à travers elle qu’il opère ses deux stations de lavage (Dambi Uddo et Raro Nansebo) et sa licence d’exportation qui lui permet de transporter son café vers la capitale Addis Abeba d’abord, puis vers le port de Djibouti ensuite. Ture est impliqué dans sa communauté depuis plus de 10 ans, ayant jadis travaillé pour Mormora Coffee et Guji Highlands Coffee. Depuis la création de Sookoo Coffee en 2018, cette implication s’est traduite par la construction d’une école et de plusieurs routes, et par des micro-crédits accordés aux producteurs et aux productrices, leur permettant de financer certaines tâches précédant la récolte et allégeant ainsi quelques peu le poids pesant sur les foyers. Entre les récoltes, Waji dispense des formations en agriculture pour les membres de la communauté, tandis que ses deux stations de lavage respectent une politique stricte de «Women First» visant à promouvoir l’autonomisation des femmes en leur garantissant l’accès à un salaire stable. L’équipe de Café Pista se sent extrêmement privilégiée de pouvoir travailler dans le sillage des producteurs de Bookkisa, de Ture Waji, et de pouvoir faire profiter notre propre communauté du fruit d’un travail passionné. Cette relation avec Ture Waji a été à nouveau rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Le Bookkisa est cueilli à la main à pleine maturité, à une altitude de 2175 mètres, entre les mois de novembre et février. Il est ensuite rigoureusement trié afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres, avant d’étendre celles qui restent sur des lits en hauteur. Sur ces lits, les cerises forment un tapis de 4 cm d’épaisseur maximum et sont tournées 6 fois par jour afin d’optimiser la circulation de l’air. Elles sont ainsi séchées au soleil pendant une période allant de 21 à 28 jours avant d’être dépulpées mécaniquement. Le Bookkisa est constitué des variétés 74110 (Gibirinna) et 74112 (Serto). Ces deux variétés ont été sélectionnées par le JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) dès 1979 pour leur résistance à certaines maladies, ainsi que pour leur haut potentiel sensoriel. 

Ce café très sucré et rond goûte la mangue et l’ananas, sur une finale nous rappelant la confiture de bleuet.

Pays Ethiopie
Région Shakizo
Ferme Sookoo Coffee, Ture Waji
Variété
74110, 74112
Altitude 2175M
Méthode Naturel
Notes Mangue, ananas, confiture de bleuet

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, nous retrouvons l’un de nos cafés favoris, le Bookkisa. Ce café provient du hameau de Bookkisa dans la région des hauts-plateaux de Guji, au sud de l’Éthiopie. Largement recouverte par de vastes étendues forestières, Guji est l’une des vingt zones constituant la région administrative d’Oromia qui, avec ces 30 millions d’habitants, est la plus peuplée des 9 régions du pays. Les forêts ancestrales de Guji, son sol volcanique riche en limon et en argile, mais aussi son climat tempéré et son altitude élevée, ont depuis quelques années fait le renom de certains woreda (district) tels qu’Uraga, Kercha ou encore Shakiso. Le succès de ce terroir n’aurait cependant pas été possible sans le savoir-faire et le labeur des producteurs et des productrices locaux. Ce lot est le résultat du travail de 33 fermiers dont les plantations en «jardin» dépassent rarement les 2.5 hectares. Dans ce type de fermes, les plants de café sont dispersés autour de l’habitation principale, sous une canopée semi-forestière à côté d’autres types de récoltes dites de subsistance (légumes, maïs,etc.). Une fois les cerises de café récoltées, elles sont acheminées à pied jusqu’à la station de lavage située dans le kebele (village) de Dambi Uddo pour y être vendues. Cette étape est habituellement effectuée au milieu de la nuit afin d’éviter aux cerises d’être surexposées au soleil. 

Une fois livrées à la station de lavage de Dambi Uddo, c’est le propriétaire Ture Waji et son équipe qui prennent le relais afin de transformer les cerises en grains de café vert prêts à être expédiés. Dès 2008, Ture Waji, que l’on surnomme le «King of Guji», profite de la libéralisation du marché de l’exportation du café en Éthiopie pour fonder la compagnie Sookoo Coffee. C’est à travers elle qu’il opère ses deux stations de lavage (Dambi Uddo et Raro Nansebo) et sa licence d’exportation qui lui permet de transporter son café vers la capitale Addis Abeba d’abord, puis vers le port de Djibouti ensuite. Ture est impliqué dans sa communauté depuis plus de 10 ans, ayant jadis travaillé pour Mormora Coffee et Guji Highlands Coffee. Depuis la création de Sookoo Coffee en 2018, cette implication s’est traduite par la construction d’une école et de plusieurs routes, et par des micro-crédits accordés aux producteurs et aux productrices, leur permettant de financer certaines tâches précédant la récolte et allégeant ainsi quelques peu le poids pesant sur les foyers. Entre les récoltes, Waji dispense des formations en agriculture pour les membres de la communauté, tandis que ses deux stations de lavage respectent une politique stricte de «Women First» visant à promouvoir l’autonomisation des femmes en leur garantissant l’accès à un salaire stable. L’équipe de Café Pista se sent extrêmement privilégiée de pouvoir travailler dans le sillage des producteurs de Bookkisa, de Ture Waji, et de pouvoir faire profiter notre propre communauté du fruit d’un travail passionné. Cette relation avec Ture Waji a été à nouveau rendue possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Le Bookkisa est cueilli à la main à pleine maturité, à une altitude de 2175 mètres, entre les mois de novembre et février. Il est ensuite rigoureusement trié afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres, avant d’étendre celles qui restent sur des lits en hauteur. Sur ces lits, les cerises forment un tapis de 4 cm d’épaisseur maximum et sont tournées 6 fois par jour afin d’optimiser la circulation de l’air. Elles sont ainsi séchées au soleil pendant une période allant de 21 à 28 jours avant d’être dépulpées mécaniquement. Le Bookkisa est constitué des variétés 74110 (Gibirinna) et 74112 (Serto). Ces deux variétés ont été sélectionnées par le JARC (Jimma Agricultural Research Center) dès 1979 pour leur résistance à certaines maladies, ainsi que pour leur haut potentiel sensoriel. 

Ce café très sucré et rond goûte la mangue et l’ananas, sur une finale nous rappelant la confiture de bleuet.

  • icon-price

    Prix payé à l'origine (FOB)

    3.65$usd/lb
  • icon-fair

    Partenariat

    2 ans via Osito Coffee
  • icon-size

    Taille du lot

    17 x 60 kg
  • icon-quality

    Qualité du lot

    88/100 Score SCA
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Bookkisa_WS
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Bookkisa_WS
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Bookkisa_WS
French