Biftu Gudina, Ethiopia | Café Pista Montreal

FREE DELIVERY in Montreal* from 30$ AND from 50$+ for the rest of Canada.

Biftu Gudina

Éthiopie

Biftu Gudina

Regular price
$20.00
Sale price
$20.00
Quantity must be 1 or more

Country Ethiopia
Region Agaro
Closed Coop Biftu Gudina
Variety
Old varieties
Altitude 2100M
Method Washed
Notes Honey, orange, lemongrass

 

ORIGIN INFORMATION 

For the second year in a row, we are glad to offer you the Biftu Gudina. This coffee comes from the cooperative of the same name, located a few kilometers from the town of Agaro, in western Ethiopia. This cooperative, which now has 196 members, was created in 2012 with the help of the international organization Technoserve, and is part of the Kata Muduga Union. Before the creation of their own cooperative, Biftu Gudina producers were forced to deliver their coffee cherries to the village of Beshesha, located more than 3 kilometers from their farms. The distance, covered on foot by the producers, caused degradation of the coffee cherries, which often arrived crushed or over-fermented at the washing station. Today, the Biftu Gudina cooperative, which means “brilliant development”, operates its own washing station and has seen the quality of its harvest reach exceptional levels. The producers of the Biftu Gudina cooperative are now recognized for their extraordinary talent and the coffees they produce are among the most complex and delicate in the country. In addition, this new cooperative organization gives these producers greater autonomy as well as real bargaining power when it comes to setting the prices of their coffee. The cooperative has thus been able to develop while contributing to the social life of its community by creating various local infrastructures including a crèche. This relationship with the Biftu Gudina cooperative has been made possible again thanks to our import partner Osito Coffee.

Grown at an altitude of around 2100 meters, this coffee is made from several ancestral varieties also known as Heirloom. It is picked at full maturity and sorted by floatation first, then by hand, to remove overripe or underripe cherries. It is then partially pulped using a mechanical pulverizer, then submerged in water for 24 to 36 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being laid on raised beds for 7 to 10 days for a slow and even drying. Slightly tart, it can be drunk as much as an espresso or as a filter, offering a delicate espresso or a complex filter.

This floral coffee tastes of orange and lemongrass, with a texture reminiscent of honey.

Country Ethiopia
Region Agaro
Closed Coop Biftu Gudina
Variety
Old varieties
Altitude 2100M
Method Washed
Notes Honey, orange, lemongrass

 

ORIGIN INFORMATION 

For the second year in a row, we are glad to offer you the Biftu Gudina. This coffee comes from the cooperative of the same name, located a few kilometers from the town of Agaro, in western Ethiopia. This cooperative, which now has 196 members, was created in 2012 with the help of the international organization Technoserve, and is part of the Kata Muduga Union. Before the creation of their own cooperative, Biftu Gudina producers were forced to deliver their coffee cherries to the village of Beshesha, located more than 3 kilometers from their farms. The distance, covered on foot by the producers, caused degradation of the coffee cherries, which often arrived crushed or over-fermented at the washing station. Today, the Biftu Gudina cooperative, which means “brilliant development”, operates its own washing station and has seen the quality of its harvest reach exceptional levels. The producers of the Biftu Gudina cooperative are now recognized for their extraordinary talent and the coffees they produce are among the most complex and delicate in the country. In addition, this new cooperative organization gives these producers greater autonomy as well as real bargaining power when it comes to setting the prices of their coffee. The cooperative has thus been able to develop while contributing to the social life of its community by creating various local infrastructures including a crèche. This relationship with the Biftu Gudina cooperative has been made possible again thanks to our import partner Osito Coffee.

Grown at an altitude of around 2100 meters, this coffee is made from several ancestral varieties also known as Heirloom. It is picked at full maturity and sorted by floatation first, then by hand, to remove overripe or underripe cherries. It is then partially pulped using a mechanical pulverizer, then submerged in water for 24 to 36 hours. Finally, it is passed under a stream of water to remove the remaining mucilage, before being laid on raised beds for 7 to 10 days for a slow and even drying. Slightly tart, it can be drunk as much as an espresso or as a filter, offering a delicate espresso or a complex filter.

This floral coffee tastes of orange and lemongrass, with a texture reminiscent of honey.

  • icon-price

    Original price paid (FOB)

    3.35 usd/lb
  • icon-fair

    Partnership

    2 ans via Osito Coffee
  • icon-size

    Lot size

    15 x 60 kg
  • icon-quality

    Lot quality

    88/100 Score SCA
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Biftu Gudina
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Biftu Gudina
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Biftu Gudina
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Biftu Gudina
  • Load image into Gallery viewer, Biftu Gudina
English

Biftu Gudina, Éthiopie | Café Pista Montréal

Livraison gratuite à partir de 30$ pour MTL et à partir du 50$ pour le reste du CANADA

Biftu Gudina

Éthiopie

Biftu Gudina

Prix normal
$20.00
Prix réduit
$20.00
La quantité doit être supérieure ou égale à 1

Pays Éthiopie
Région Agaro
Ferme Coop Biftu Gudina
Variété
Variétés anciennes
Altitude 2100M
Méthode Lavé
Notes Miel, orange, citronnelle

 

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE 

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, nous retrouvons le Biftu Gudina. Ce café provient de la coopérative du même nom, située à quelques kilomètres de la ville d’Agaro, dans l’Ouest de l’Éthiopie. Cette coopérative, qui compte aujourd’hui 196 membres, a été créée en 2012 grâce à l’aide de l’organisation internationale Technoserve, et fait partie de l’Union Kata Muduga. Avant la création de leur propre coopérative, les producteurs de Biftu Gudina étaient contraints de livrer leurs cerises de café au village de Beshesha, situé à plus de 3 kilomètres de leurs fermes. La distance, parcourue à pied par les producteurs, entraînait une dégradation des cerises de café qui arrivaient souvent écrasées ou sur-fermentées à la station de lavage. Aujourd’hui, la coopérative Biftu Gudina, qui signifie “développement brillant”, opère sa propre station de lavage et a vu la qualité de sa récolte atteindre des niveaux exceptionnels. Les producteurs de la coopérative de Biftu Gudina sont désormais reconnus pour leur extraordinaire talent et les cafés qu’ils produisent sont parmi les plus complexes et délicats du pays. De plus, cette nouvelle organisation en coopérative confère à ces producteurs une plus grande autonomie ainsi qu’un véritable pouvoir de négociation lorsqu’il s’agit de fixer les prix de leur café. La coopérative a ainsi pu se développer tout en contribuant à la vie sociale de sa communauté en créant différentes infrastructures locales dont une crèche. Cette relation avec la coopérative Biftu Gudina a été rendue à nouveau possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Cultivé à une altitude d’environ 2100 mètres, ce café est composé de plusieurs variétés ancestrales aussi appelées Heirloom. Il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison d’abord, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite partiellement dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis immergé dans l’eau pendant 24 à 36 heures. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être étendu sur des lits surélevés pendant 7 à 10 jours pour un séchage lent et homogène. Légèrement acidulé, il se boit autant en espresso qu’en filtre, offrant un espresso délicat ou un filtre complexe.

Ce café floral goûte l’orange et la citronnelle, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

Pays Éthiopie
Région Agaro
Ferme Coop Biftu Gudina
Variété
Variétés anciennes
Altitude 2100M
Méthode Lavé
Notes Miel, orange, citronnelle

 

INFORMATION SUR L’ORIGINE 

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, nous retrouvons le Biftu Gudina. Ce café provient de la coopérative du même nom, située à quelques kilomètres de la ville d’Agaro, dans l’Ouest de l’Éthiopie. Cette coopérative, qui compte aujourd’hui 196 membres, a été créée en 2012 grâce à l’aide de l’organisation internationale Technoserve, et fait partie de l’Union Kata Muduga. Avant la création de leur propre coopérative, les producteurs de Biftu Gudina étaient contraints de livrer leurs cerises de café au village de Beshesha, situé à plus de 3 kilomètres de leurs fermes. La distance, parcourue à pied par les producteurs, entraînait une dégradation des cerises de café qui arrivaient souvent écrasées ou sur-fermentées à la station de lavage. Aujourd’hui, la coopérative Biftu Gudina, qui signifie “développement brillant”, opère sa propre station de lavage et a vu la qualité de sa récolte atteindre des niveaux exceptionnels. Les producteurs de la coopérative de Biftu Gudina sont désormais reconnus pour leur extraordinaire talent et les cafés qu’ils produisent sont parmi les plus complexes et délicats du pays. De plus, cette nouvelle organisation en coopérative confère à ces producteurs une plus grande autonomie ainsi qu’un véritable pouvoir de négociation lorsqu’il s’agit de fixer les prix de leur café. La coopérative a ainsi pu se développer tout en contribuant à la vie sociale de sa communauté en créant différentes infrastructures locales dont une crèche. Cette relation avec la coopérative Biftu Gudina a été rendue à nouveau possible grâce à notre partenaire à l’importation Osito Coffee.

Cultivé à une altitude d’environ 2100 mètres, ce café est composé de plusieurs variétés ancestrales aussi appelées Heirloom. Il est cueilli à pleine maturité et trié par flottaison d’abord, puis à la main, afin de retirer les cerises trop ou pas assez mûres. Il est ensuite partiellement dépulpé à l’aide d’un dépulpeur mécanique, puis immergé dans l’eau pendant 24 à 36 heures. Enfin, il est passé sous un courant d’eau afin de lui enlever le mucilage restant, avant d’être étendu sur des lits surélevés pendant 7 à 10 jours pour un séchage lent et homogène. Légèrement acidulé, il se boit autant en espresso qu’en filtre, offrant un espresso délicat ou un filtre complexe.

Ce café floral goûte l’orange et la citronnelle, avec une texture nous rappelant le miel.

  • icon-price

    Prix payé à l'origine (FOB)

    3.35 usd/lb
  • icon-fair

    Partenariat

    2 ans via Osito Coffee
  • icon-size

    Taille du lot

    15 x 60 kg
  • icon-quality

    Qualité du lot

    88/100 Score SCA
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Biftu Gudina
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Biftu Gudina
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Biftu Gudina
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Biftu Gudina
  • Charger l'image dans la galerie, Biftu Gudina
French